How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Snow

 

Winter 2010-2011

Although I always thought the snow was beautiful,  when possible, I tended to keep my distance.  I didn’t learn to ski when I was young enough to ignore the perils of speeding downhill, seemingly head-first.  And my perfect temperatures started at 80º–for me to willingly spend time in the snow would have required an upending of the laws of physics, permitting it to fall at 65º.

But then, a few years ago, two things changed.  I bought snow shoes, which prevent me from sinking in up to my knees or higher and  which miraculously seem to flatten out the angles of the hills so I can go where my dogs go (but slower) and the activity keeps me warm.  And I was given a small, perfect digital camera, the Canon G10, which reminds me of the little 35mm full-frame Minox that everyone had in the 80s.  It’s light enough to take on treks, and (relatively) cheap enough so that if it gets destroyed (I dropped it–and me–into a icy, flowing stream two years ago–I instanly pulled out the battery and amazingly the camera survived), it’s not the tragedy that losing a Canon 5D or a PhaseOne back would be.

This entry was posted in Dogs, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Snow

  1. S.H. Blume says:

    This speaks to me. I, too, came to love snow and winter only recently — both are so beautiful, how can you not? And my ideal temperature has been for a long time: 80 degrees. I love especially the close up of the birch (is that a birch?).

  2. Hank + Ruby Holland-Brown says:

    These photographs of winter would make any person think better of the season – even this winter- and certainly make any dog happy. They’re just beautiful and so is that magnificent Black Lab.

  3. Dangerous Kitten says:

    Pupper! He is very handsome against the winter whiteness. And he has either been eating some snow or he likes his margaritas with lots of salt on the rim. I’m pretty sure there is another lab nearby, probably hidden behind a snow drift, waiting to pop out and say HOWDY!!!! DID YOU MISS MEEEE????

    BTW, that is a birch, probably a betula populifolia (grey birch). It is fairly resistant to the birch bark borer that is decimating the white birch populations, but this one looks like it might have some damage – hard to tell from this distance. The best way to tell is to look for small sideways D shaped holes in the bark and/or dieback of foliage at the top.

    This concludes the dangerous kitten triforce message for today:

      ∆
    ∆ ∆

  4. Andrew says:

    i like this winter best through the lens of your camera. through my own eyes…not so much.

Leave a Reply

